Stavros the dog!

6

Wednesday 30 September, 2015 by Uncle Spike

Even though I was brought up with dogs, and decades later still have a farm pooch, I’m not one to try and adopt every mutt I come across. Living in this part of the world; and I’m talking compared to the ‘west’, one comes to understand that dogs are dogs, tough beasties on the whole, who really don’t need pampering on sofas, fed special diet balanced tinned food, their own hairdressers and pawycures (?)…

But, and it’s with a capital “Bah”, occasionally I admit to getting hooked.

So here’s Stavros…

.

DSCF9047_blog

.

Stavros (first Greek name I could think ok – sorry to my Grecian friends), lived on top of a cliff, chained to an old WW2 defensive lookout concrete bunker, on the Greek Dodecanese island of Astypalea.

.

DSCF9042_blog

.

He seemed well enough fed though, but all the same, most mornings I was up there at dawn with my camera, and a bag of goodies for Stavros 🙂

.

DSCF9141_blog

.

For those who’ll cry out ‘cruelty’, life in this part of the world differs to some countries. However, young Stavros was well fed, had a huge bucket of clean water, and was pretty friendly too – not fearsome of humans, or aggressive through hunger.

.

DSCF9114_blog

.

All in all, Stavros seemed a fairly happy dog, and why not, what a view he had!! This next image was the last I took, as I walked off after sunrise one morning… you can just see him to the right of the bunker! 🙂

.

DSCF9150_blog

.

6 thoughts on “Stavros the dog!

  1. Miz Roket says:

    he is adorable 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynn says:

    What a handsome fellow Stavros is. I must admit I had great difficulty with the number of stray dogs when we visited Greece. You are right, in most cases, they are well fed but I couldn’t help but feel a sense of sadness at the lack of love they receive. I know that this is simply a difference in culture, however there were several I fell in love with & wanted to pack them up & bring them home with me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ladybuggz says:

    I think he looked lonely, but I pamper my dog…lately he runs away from me if I cough, ya never know what goes on in one’s head!
    Oh, I just posted a weeklyphotochallenge:change, it is of my Dragonfly! Hope you like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Paula says:

    I like his face – in the first photo he looks like he’s determining friend or foe and the second he’s decided you’re all right, but doesn’t want to be too distracted because he’s working. He looks proud and determined, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dayphoto says:

    Hummm the guaradian of the bunker I suppose!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 564,908 and counting...

Join 2,818 other subscribers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2020

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.