Preparing that slow goat stew

15

Saturday 23 January, 2016 by Uncle Spike

20151231_195244_blog

I was asked by Janey In Mersin (an Aussie expat in southern Turkey) about my method of creating that slow-cooked goat stew we scoffed on our New Year’s Eve. Well, it was nothing special, and as usual there was no recipe – I never bother, too lazy or rebellious I guess.

So here it is, from memory… so bear with me. It was just an experiment (as with all my cooking), but it worked a treat, I have to admit. Not having thought about blogging the event, I have no step-by-step photo’s to share I’m afraid.

The meat

It was a chunk of lower goat’s leg that a neighbour gave us at Kurban Bayram (that’s our Sacrifice Festival, or Eid al-Adha), which last fell on 23 September 2015. The leg was in a carrier bag, and thrown into the chest freezer and there it stayed.

For New Year’s Eve, one of us had the bright idea of digging said bone from the depths of the freezer, and seeing what we could do with it. Once defrosted, it was difficult to see what meat was there – not a lot, but worth a try.

Meat preparation

I found our large(ish) ceramic-lined iron pot we use, and surmised the leg was far too big; but a simple swipe with a butchers cleaver did the trick – nothing fancy. A few bits of meat/sinew/fat of dubious nature, perhaps less favoured for culinary purposes, were removed and added to Bonzo’s pot (he had a special NYE meal too that way)

The brew

In a large stainless steel bowl, I mixed up a brew of half a cup of olive oil (of course), salt, ground in some black pepper, a tablespoon of Moroccan harissa, a teaspoon of cumin, plenty of dried mountain organo from Greece (we stock up each visit- slightly different aroma to ours), some of our own dried black basil, two onions cut into 1cm cubes, five sliced-up cloves of garlic, two cubed potatoes, a handful of cubed swede and a handful of cherry tomatoes – both from the freezer (bags of home produce is handy when looking for stuff to fill a pot) 🙂

I then hand-mixed that into a rather nice mess. Then I added the goat chunks into the cooking pot, and threw on the spiced veg mix. More getting messy with smothered the bones/meat with everything by hand until it resembled probably the ultimate gastronomical delight for Bonzo.

Cooking

As a final touch, I poured on 400ml of tap water; didn’t bother mixing it, and placed the pot, with its lid firmly in place, direct into a pre-heated gas fan oven @ 180C (or 350F in old money). After the one hour kickstart, I then simply turned it down to 110C (230F) for another five hours.

When I eventually took the lid off, the bones had dry ends. Holding carefully with burned fingers, I found a table fork could very easily strip the meat from the bone. I was amazed how much was actually on those bones (which weren’t exactly bulging to start with – being the lower leg section of one of our mountain goats).

Presentation

Oh yes, the presentation…. take the lid off, take to the table, take photo, and scoff… My bit was a sinch; but the rest of the New Year’s Eve table had taken rather more effort, mostly by the boss. So to complete the picture, here’s a picture; the table. And as for the goat, wow, rather pleasing; and certainly beats the usual goatly offering.

20151231_195226_blog

.

15 thoughts on “Preparing that slow goat stew

  1. […] I ran down stairs to collect the pieces that had fallen off the line and to try and retrieve my special occasion undies (although I can’t imagine them possibly being salvageable).  There was a tustle.  The little brown goat won and wandered off to meet his maker happily chewing on the remnants of my undies.  His last meal before he becomes Goat Stew. […]

    Like

  2. mvaden1948 says:

    I am so glad that you didn’t start the way someone did when I asked for a recipe at a game lodge in Kenya (it wasn’t even goat….it was goat cheese) when he said “First you kill a goat”. Of course I quickly informed him that I know exactly where goat cheese comes from and the goat does not have to die.
    Yes, I know that goats, cows, etc die for our food. Just don’t ask me to do it please.
    It does look delicious and I am a carnivore but let someone else take care of the first part please (although I’m willing to milk one to make the cheese).
    After all, I drive a car but I pay someone else to fix it when it is broken.;-)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dayphoto says:

    Excellent! The recipe should work anyplace, at any time a goat can be procured! My mother’s people fixed goat often and ‘especially for summer feasts. But I never have. I do not have the culinary gifts of my maternal grandparents or my mother…they could could anything and all things. I try, but my venison still tastes nasty. So my thinking is if I can’t do deer and elk (my son-in-law can) then I won’t be any good with goat or lamb.

    Your wife sets a very nice table, by-the-way. It all looks like a nice NYE celebration.

    Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  4. davidprosser says:

    Anyone seen my pet goat about anywhere?
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Colleen says:

    Wow looks like such a feast…how many did you have for dinner?

    Like

  6. Christine says:

    I so want to come to dinner

    Liked by 1 person

  7. janegundogan says:

    Fantastic instructions Spikey! I’ve cooked goat a few times but perhaps in my haste I’ve cooked it too fast or we just had a chewy old goat each time. It’s obviously the slower the cooking the more successful it will be.

    SIL has a nice chunk of unknown meat (most likely goat) in her the chest freezer in our basement right now. I will thieve it and will let you know how I go!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Looks delicious… Too bad I’ve turned into a vegetarian, but I’ll try it for my hubby.
    Have a great day!

    Like

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 541,523 and counting...

Join 2,860 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

