Winter in Istanbul: A few more mosques

3

Saturday 01 August, 2015 by Uncle Spike

Mosques are a personal favourite for me

Partly it’s about the stunning architecture, partly because I go into them all, especially at prayer times, and partly, well, they just fascinate me – maybe that’s part of the draw for me personally?

As your complete non-tour guide, I don’t always know the names of most of these places, and nor does it matter. You’ll find many hundreds of blogs out there that’ll guide you around on that score.

My thought here was just to share some snaps of mosques as I saw them on my walkabouts around the city. They are in no particular order, either by geographic locale, or time period of construction. But anyway, I hope you’ll enjoy them for what they are… 

This first one was taken somewhere in the west of the city… I was out and about on the metro, and as I got off, I saw this looming above me!

.

DSCF1821_blog

.

This next one was taken through the trees as I walked down the hill from Taksim Square towards Beşiktaş. It’s the famous Dolmabahçe Mosque, next to the palace.

.

DSCF1777_blog

.

Same one, taken once down the hill, across the road at a busy junction.

.

DSCF1783_blog

.

Then there’s the New Valide Sultan Mosque down at Eminönü, with I believe the magnificent Nuruosmaniye Mosque in the background.

.

DSCF1752_blog

.

DSCF1750_blog

.

3 thoughts on “Winter in Istanbul: A few more mosques

  1. […] Source: Winter in Istanbul: A few more mosques […]

    Like

  2. dayphoto says:

    They are beautiful! I agree with you about the architecture!
    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mihrank says:

    great post – Turkey brings many rich history.

    Liked by 1 person

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 541,086 and counting...

Join 2,859 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

