Winter in Istanbul: On the Ferries

11

Saturday 25 July, 2015 by Uncle Spike

Part of my Istanbul adventure during the winter included some ‘boy time’, off on my own exploring. Naturally, ferries came into it as the most common form of intercontinental travel available at a very reasonable price. 

.

DSCF1797_blog

.

It seems every person with two operational feet chose the same route on some ferries I tried. This one wasn’t so bad, having purposefully elected to travel off-peak with a less frantic crowd. Here we are just ‘escaping’ to board the ferry, after being cooped up like sheep in the waiting ‘pen’.

.

DSCF1721_blog

.

There are no salubrious posh walkways here, just a moving old iron metal wide ‘plank’ with a grab rail one shouldn’t attempt to try out. Just follow the sheep I thought…

.

DSCF1722_blog

.

Once on board, the natives all dived for cover inside, a cup of çay (Tea) and probably another simit (Turkish bagel); meanwhile, I remained outside to see what there was to see (with my thermal hat firmly in place, I might add).

.

DSCF1725_blog

.

DSCF1723_blog

.

All very safety concious of course these ferries, with doors open to engine rooms and other places I found myself ‘wandering’ accidentally into. If ever caught, I’d just launch into my best “lost Englishman” routine. Naturalised as a Türk I may be, but I can still pull that one out of the hat when the need arises.

.

DSCF1726_blog

.

DSCF1724_blog

.

Travelling by ferry back and forth between the continents is THE way to get a feel for Istanbul. Thankfully the costs are low enough to zigzag the Bosphorus all day long!

.

DSCF1716_blog

.

DSCF1748_blog

.

11 thoughts on “Winter in Istanbul: On the Ferries

  1. asthaguptaa says:

    Loved reading about your experience! 🙂

    Like

  2. Whatever the weather I will always choose to stay top side on deck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel as if I travelled with you, Spike! Great images.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bea dM says:

    nice tip for how to visit the Bosphorus, Once an Englishman, forever an Englishman – zilliions of olives notwtihstanding!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. maamej says:

    Me too, I love the gulls, great pic.

    Like

  6. Great post Spike. Love the picture with the gulls .. Now that Turkish bagel sounds delish.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. dayphoto says:

    Fun! I could even hear the gulls cry…I thought. Also, I had to run over to the internet to see what a Turkish bagel looked like…yumm.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 541,412 and counting...

Join 2,861 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

