Love and the Civil Service

7

Saturday 27 June, 2015 by Uncle Spike

“And it says here you know other languages. Care to elaborate?”

That was a question posed to my goodself some thirty year ago. I had somehow found myself attending a board interview for the post of Senior Administrative Officer in the UK Civil Service. How the chuff that came about I’ll never know!

Basically, post backpacking days, I was engaged (almost) and trying to fit into the dreaded establishment; you know, get a career going, take on some hefty debts and all that polava. As it happened, there were some clerical testing events being held by the civil service, and so off I toddled for a laugh. It said they served free tea and biscuits.

I’m actually quite good at those psychometric tests, so thought it’d make a nice day out. I did ok I guess; too well you could say – I was invited for a board interview – Yikes.

Mistake #1 – I borrowed an old suit from the second-hand clothes shop where I was doing a spot of voluntary work, and caught the bus into town. 

Mistake #2 – Before the interview, there was another part of the test to perform (yawn); a comprehension and precis to complete no less. Cool… until they said it had to be written in HB pencil. WTF? I should have guessed at that point the the ‘civil service’ wasn’t for me! 

Mistake #3 – Long story short… in I go. 

.

love

.

The room was long and narrow. At the end was a long set of tables, stretching almost to each side wall. Sat at the table were four officious looking muppets in old-fashioned, ill-fitting suits – the board I guessed. A long way back from the desk/table arrangement was a solitary chair.

I was motioned towards the chair. I moved towards it, cautiously checking first for any attached wires, leather straps etc. None.

Mistake #4 – I sat down. 

The ‘interview/interrogation’ lasted but 11 minutes, and I was proud it lasted that long at the receiving end of the glare of some middle-aged battle-axe in a tweed ensemble who was trying some pseudo-Jedi mind tricks I was sure of it.

.

Here’s where it all started to fall apart:-

.

Battle-Axe:  “So Mr Spike, what’s all this travelling lark then?” 
[this was spat out in my direction whilst waving my application form in mid air]

.

Gobsmacked a bit at the dumbfoundedness of the statement/question, I proceeded to explain the qualities of extensive travel, how multifaceted employment opportunities (odd-jobbing around the world) strengthened my employment skills set etc etc etc.

.

Battle-Axe:  “So I take it getting a proper job wasn’t worthy of your time?” 

.

I didn’t answer. At this point I knew my canoe had too many holes to plug, and anyway, drowning sounded like more fun than joining this bunch.

.

Battle-Axe:  “And it says here you know other languages. Care to elaborate?” 

.

Crap, that was BS anyway. Hmm, time to improvise and end this debacle.

.

Me:  “Well M’Lady… [dropping into my my best Barry White],
You see, I speak the language of love… [but said very slowly as “Luurrrvv”]

.

There endeth my civil service non-career 😀

.

7 thoughts on “Love and the Civil Service

  1. cjwild2014 says:

    thank God you had the sense to sabotage the interview when you did!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hilarious! And did battleaxe retort?

    Like

  3. ballerina95 says:

    haha, and did battle-axe go into an apoplectic state after that Barry White imitation?

    Like

  4. dayphoto says:

    Sounds like you would’n’t have liked it…eveerrrrrrrrrrr. Me either.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 541,495 and counting...

Join 2,860 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

