Who loves a Blackberry?

11

Thursday 18 June, 2015 by Uncle Spike

If one were to mention a Blackberry to 93.48% of the under 25 year old population, what do you think they would envisage? This…?

.

blackberry

.

Meanwhile, back on planet Old Folk, I remember the purple stained fingers as a kid from munching blackberries (the fruit, that is) when walking down the tracks from our home (which was also a small farm of sorts).

Two years ago we found a chap flogging all sorts of plants, and so we purchased and dug in two blackberry roots. Often a bit too hot to get a lot of these fruit to grow, but looking good so far this year!

.

DSCF3280_blog

.

11 thoughts on “Who loves a Blackberry?

  1. Loved by my Father says:

    I HATE blackberry plants – they are the barbed wire that surround our almost 3/4 acre. The neighbor next door asked me if I wanted to go in with him building a fence between the properties and I said pointing to the plant hedge – I think I already have a fence. Blackberries make good neighbors. 🙂 LOL! And am not a fan of the fruit. 🙂

    Like

  2. f-stop mama says:

    We have discovered a ton of blackberry plants on our property. Ours are looking good too. Impatiently waiting for them to ripen. Just a couple of days ago I found the jackpot of black raspberries on the property. Whew, was I excited to find those berries ready for picking & consuming 🙂 Enjoy your berries when it’s time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never understood why those organizer/phones were called ‘blackberries.’ In our area, ollalaberries are grown – a cross between blackberries and raspberries, I think. Nothing like the berry fresh off the vine!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yum, I have very fond memories of eating berries out of my Grandfather’s garden. I also remember getting in trouble for picking carrots and washing them in the pool before eating them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lamputts says:

    I’m with Elaine – what’s not to like about blackberry jam? From picking the fruit and boiling it up, tasting the setting point drips to spreading it on fresh bread. Mmm my favourite.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m firmly on Planet Old Folk! My favourite jam is blackberry jam (or jelly, if it is sieved before putting into the jars). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. W.H. SIM says:

    I wish my blackberry bushes were this productive! we have to “settle” for blueberries and raspberries — they’re hardier and much more prolific in my backyard! 🙂

    Like

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 540,468 and counting...

Join 2,859 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

