Ten images of late springtime…

16

Saturday 09 May, 2015 by Uncle Spike

Springtime is a time of big changes and long hours of hard work. In the orchards it has been a busy time, with pruning, spraying, fertilising and ploughing, whilst in the veggie areas it has been a case of harvest, process, clear, dig, fertilise, dig, then dig some more… then plant out, seed, water etc

In the gardens I’ve been clearing, moving a few hundred plants around, adding new stock from our previous years cuttings, hay-making, big-time weeding and most recently, grass and weed cutting for six consecutive days across the whole farm…. so yes, springtime IS lovely, but darned hard work.

Next I’ll move on to early summer chores, such as painting the trunk and lower branches of around 300 fruit and olive trees with a mixture of slaked lime paste, water and copper sulphate crystals, laying some four kilometers of drip water pipes, repairing pipe joins, and then cleaning the artesian pump and its various filters before test-checking the whole operation (walking up and down the lines checking for leaks). All of which must be finished by early June as the heat is rapidly increasing, and of course there’s Ramadan.

But in order to celebrate the ending of this season, I wanted to share ten images with you. They are in no particular order, and I haven’t selected any ‘favourite; that’s for you to decide. Anyway, here they are, and I hope you enjoy them, as much as I have done so in selecting them 🙂

.

ONE: Sour Cherry blossom

DSCF2510_blog

.

TWO: First leaves of a Jujube bush

.

DSCF2533_blog

.

THREE: First colour

.

DSCF2574_blog

.

FOUR: Flower beds make good bathtubs!

.

DSCF2603_blog

.

FIVE: All the cacti have babies

.

DSCF2776_blog

.

SIX: Broad beans are the last winter crop

.

DSCF2897_blog

.

SEVEN: Strawberries are the first summer crop

.

DSCF2903_blog

.

EIGHT: Large flowers of the Pomelo tree

.

DSCF2911_blog

.

NINE: First of the peaches

.

DSCF2939_blog

.

TEN: Wild shrubs add colour too

.

DSCF2943_blog

.

16 thoughts on “Ten images of late springtime…

  1. Everything looks in prime health down on the farm 🙂 Our allotment is looking good this year, too, despite the lack of sun so far.

    Like

  2. Cathy says:

    And I thought I had a lot of work! And you still find time to blog (which lazy me doesn’t seem to manage!). I like the young peach fruit – just because I love them so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your garden! You have so much to do … I feel tired thinking about it. I bet you get loads of satisfaction though .. especially when it is all done and dusted. Well that is until the next job gets added to the list. I adore the cherry blossom and I seriously have broad bean envy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. vanbraman says:

    Four is a beautiful Gazania. They are in the Asteraceae family which are commonly referred to as daisies, but I had a very passionate gardener argue with me for days that they were not daisies.

    http://bramanswanderings.com/2012/06/29/sydney-daisies/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dayphoto says:

    And sunshine, beautiful sunshine…I’ve forgotten what it looks like.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    https://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/sherlock-boomer

    Like

  6. Colleen says:

    Gee you work hard! It has its benefits in keeping you fit…I do hope you have a holiday planned over to the Greek Islands soon as you well and truly deserve it! My fave is cherry blossom!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hey Spike,
    I’m goin’ with the jujube and the pomelo pix because I had to look them up in Wikipedia to see what they are. Got me some learnin’. Learned about gorse and Arthur’s Seat today, too, over at Crafty Green Poet.
    How you actually have the energy/stamina/knowledge to do what you do down on that farm is beyond me.
    🙂 m & jb the cat (who I sometimes call jujube but pronounce it joo-joo-bee like the candy)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. AnnetteM says:

    I think the best photograph is the cherry blossom as it is so sharp and beautiful, but my favourite has to be the orange flower as I love the colour against the brown earth. Lovely post.

    Like

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 539,955 and counting...

Join 2,857 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

