Rebellious age

9

Friday 01 May, 2015 by Uncle Spike

To say I went through a rebellious stage during my seven years of teenhood would be putting it mildy. However, as one of my blog followers happens to be mother, perhaps I should refrain from bearing all as to the extent of my endeavours. She might be an octogenarian, but that silver surfer doesn’t miss a trick, so for now, my lips are sealed. Let’s just say that with the exception of gun crime and earning money by way of sexual favours for cash, I tried it all…. I was quite good at it too, in my humble opinion; a true teenage rebel who meant well, most of the time, but caused no end of heartache to my mother during the course of my youth (which lasted over ten years) 😀

.

beastie-boys-fight-for-your-right-1

.

Needless to say, the affect on my educational achievements and early career was predictable as it was ruinous. But such is life. It made me what I am today, with a yardarm of experience to look back upon with a wry smile. To summarise that profound period of my life, what better than the ace musical specimen by the Beastie Boys as this weeks constituent for my Tunes I Love.

.

.

9 thoughts on “Rebellious age

  1. You’ll have to hope Spike Jnr misses this phase 👪

    Like

  2. Ed says:

    I’m right there with ya, my mum follows and reads my blog too and while I was a twit in my rebellious years she stood there right besides me. Loved the Beastie Boys but I was more a Clash/ Sex Pistols punker myself..:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so impressed, Spike, that your mom is one of your followers. I was the least rebellious teenager…ever…but I still don’t share my blog with family. It allows me a different kind of writing freedom, I guess. Love the Beastie’s video..☺ Van

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Patrecia (with an E) says:

    Hello Spike’s Mum….nice to meet you!
    As foryour teenage years Spike I guess we all do things that hurt our parents..I know i did, and so did my daughters….its just a time of trying to get away with as much as you can…like pulling a piece of elastic and seeing how far it will go before it pings off and hits you on the nose.
    Whatever you did , your Mum still loves you and that is what Mothers do ( most of the time). They hold their breath , count to ten…and pray that things will change and eventually they do. My daughters are my closest friends as I am sure that your Mum is also….
    Have a good day, and hope the weather is good down south

    Liked by 2 people

  5. John says:

    With so much happening (in those days), the straight and narrow looked pretty boring as I recall. We had to try it all, lucky to have survived it.

    Liked by 1 person

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 541,523 and counting...

Join 2,860 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

