They call this weeding…?

11

Tuesday 14 April, 2015 by Uncle Spike

A spot of light gardening, they said….

Pull a few weeds, they said….

After the rains of winter and the warmth of spring, everything grows like mad here; and I mean really grow!! Before the ground starts to dry to its summer rock-like state, the weeds take over the farm for a couple of months.

.

DSCF2612_blog

.

DSCF2611_blog

.

DSCF2620_blog

.

Before it dries too much, I start to pull and pickaxe out the heavy weeds. In a  week or so I’ll fire up the gas-powered backpack brush-cutter, but these huge weeds just make a heck of a mess if you just cut them, and then they leave behind thick base stalks so you cant even walk around with ease, hence I take them ‘out’.

.

DSCF2602_blog

.

Good exercise, pulling up a few hundred of these babies!

.

DSCF2613_blog

.

You can see the size of them better in these next shots.

.

DSCF2610_blog

.

That’s a single weed by the way 🙂

.

DSCF2614_blog

.

Oh and this is a rather rampant grower too…

.

DSCF2622_blog

.

The girth is about the same as my hand grip.

.

DSCF2623_blog

.

Just wish my veggies would grow as well 🙂

This is one I found next to our back gate. By the way, I don’t think I’ll win any design awards for my gate, but it’s what I call ‘functional’, and manages to keeps the goats and sheep out (most of the time), although wild boar smash through any hedge to come visit us us on summer evenings.

.

DSCF2621_blog

.

11 thoughts on “They call this weeding…?

  1. […] then there is the other extreme. This is one we found two days ago when doing some of the weeding; and he was a heavy old brute […]

    Like

  2. When we lived in Alaska, 5′ tall weeds were pretty common. Cow parsnip, skunk cabbage, and who knows what else. It’s pretty tough to tackle weeds almost as tall as you are. Good luck to you!

    Like

  3. JunkChuck says:

    I’m going to show this to my kids they next time I set them to digging up dandelions and pigweed in our food garden.

    Like

  4. dayphoto says:

    WHEW! Now that is what I call weeds! We don’t have weeds like you although we have nasty weeds that take over here…I would hate to think what would happen if we were as rich and lush as you are!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    https://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/sherlock-boomer

    Like

  5. Good luck! It will look gorgeous when it’s done. Already does!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. “Lords and Ladies” — not the posh kind but of the Cuckoo Pint weed variety — have done a takeover of my garden this year. Will have to resort to chemicals, I suppose, but of the organic kind because my dog likes grazing on couch grass. I nickname her cow-dog.

    Liked by 1 person

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 539,500 and counting...

Join 2,856 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

