Volunteering Is A Must

9

Tuesday 04 November, 2014 by Uncle Spike

imagesThese days my adventures in ‘volunteering’ tend to be limited to spending 8 hours with a backpack brushcutter to clear the waist-high weeds from my neighbours orchard every autumn.. But, looking back over the years, a much younger Spike turned his volunteering hand to a few ventures, and I have to say, they form some of my all-time top memories of my life so far.

This world is sadly quite obsessively focussed on monetary and academic achievement, and as a parent, I for one know that I will be encouraging young Cousin Spike Jnr to put in some serious time volunteering when he gets older.

I firmly believe that volunteering strengthens character, and gives one a healthy much-needed dose of wisdom that goes far and beyond other forms of vocational training. Put simply, volunteering is a must in my mind for any young person during their transition to adulthood.

SPIKE

.

9 thoughts on “Volunteering Is A Must

  1. What a great idea! Yesterday, I attended a Volunteer Appreciation event where I was the recipient of a first year award for volunteering at a local nature program. Timely inspiration, Uncle Spike.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. galeweithers says:

    I love to read your posts whenever I can so I can’t wait to hear about these earlier times. I will say that volunteering is and always will be an important factor in anyone’s life; if you can’t give of yourself freely and without expecting payment (whether in cash or kind), then … words fail me but I’m sure you can relate.

    Like

  3. Sue Slaght says:

    I concur Spike. Giving back in life is something that is very important to us as well. One of our favorite things is every Monday night we go our city’s Food Bank to pack hampers. It is very grounding to perhaps arrive from a busy day with whatever stresses and then to spend the hours thinking about the folks whose worries are about not being able to feed themselves and their family.
    I look forward to hearing more from you about your volunteering. I think a very good theme indeed. 🙂

    Like

  4. sweetpea2love says:

    Looking forward to your tales from the past.. Take care & Happy blogging to ya..

    Like

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 540,024 and counting...

Join 2,858 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

