SPIKE WRITES: Change of Career, Continent, and Citizenship

7

Saturday 01 November, 2014 by Uncle Spike

Asked recently to summarize my life changing move in about 500 words, here’s my guest post on Sarah’s blog.

Sarah Potter Writes

For many years I was an avid traveller of far-flung places – basically, anywhere warmer and drier than the UK was my motto. I always favoured those warmer climes, and my passport collected stamps of places like Australia, Egypt, Tunisia, all over mainland US and Hawaii, New Zealand, China, Africa (north, east, and west), India, and much of the Near- and Middle East, plus most of Europe.

Now, I was no rich bitch cruising around on papa’s cash; just an ordinary guy in search of adventure. From the age of 12-13 saw me hitchhike, cycle and train travel much of the UK, before escaping by channel ferry in the early 80s following a bereavement and a subsequent engagement that had gone a bit skewwhiff. And so off I toddled ‘to find myself’ – dunno if I can say I ever did, by the way, but that quest kept me on…

View original post 360 more words

7 thoughts on “SPIKE WRITES: Change of Career, Continent, and Citizenship

  1. We read your guest post on Sarah’s blog and it is wonderful! We have something in common—-the thirst for adventure and the love for traveling. And indeed, they make our lives fulfilled and fun. Great piece, Uncle Spike!

    Like

  2. aj vosse says:

    I shall play JLS a little later and dream of warm places and travel! It’s been a mostly wet May Bank Holiday weekend here! 😉 Great read by the way, I think I’ve said it before… you have a way with words!! 🙂

    Like

  3. lilith says:

    I loved it that you ended up in Turkey as you planned! And bonus, I have discovered Sarah Potter writes

    Like

  4. joannesisco says:

    I think your story is very interesting Spike and I enjoyed reading about it in a second version 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 539,987 and counting...

Join 2,857 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

