Guest post: “Fuzzy and Boomer” – by Linda

24

Sunday 27 July, 2014 by Uncle Spike

In this post, we get a history lesson… from a couple of farming pooches from the USA, called Fuzzy & Boomer… Uncle Spike’s special Guest Writer for this week is Linda, from a blog I love to follow, Life on a Colorado Farm.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“The Adventures of Fuzzy and Boomer –
A Story from A Long Time Ago”

Boomer?

Hummmm! Yes!

Do ya think you are up for a little story?

Hey! Yeah, sure, Fuzzy! I’m always up for a STORY!

I’m thinking that you will be interested in learning a little bit about where we live.

Aaaa, okay. But Fuzzy, I know LOTS about the farm.

Oh, no not the farm. A little bit about this area called Delta.

You see a long, long time ago. Way before there were pioneers in this area we were a settling spot for nomadic tribes of Stone Age food-gatherers.

They came here to get away from meaner people.

Did they bring their dogs with them Fuzzy?

I’m sure they did, Boomer. I can’t imagine any group of people not having dogs with them. Why dogs are the workers of all types of people.

Oh, that’s true Fuzzy, I guess I sort of forgot.

Any these people are like Mom and Dad in that they settled on the mesa’s and plateaus and in the canyons all around what is now called Delta and Delta County.

Gosh, Fuzzy. I’ve never seen any of these people and their dogs.

No, Boom, you won’t — their whole tribe left our area in a HUGE mass exodus sometime around the end of the thirteenth century.

WOW! The Thirteenth Century. That IS a long time ago, Fuzzy.

Yes it is Boomer.

But we know they were here…we have lots of signs left by them — people nowadays call it Rock Art.

.

For-Spike-1_blog

.

See this rock says—“Bring your dog and go this way…if you do you can find supper, which is a Big Horned Sheep.”

How about this rock, Fuzzy?

.

Spike-2_blog

.

Hummmm — “Deer running away! Stop them! Call the dogs to help or we won’t get supper!”

Sometime after those people left, a new group of people filtered in and they brought with them horses.

See now they are putting horses in the news pictures —

.

Spike 3_blog

.

Oh, look Fuzz, this one says:

“Grab a horse and ride. Your dog will lead the way.”

By golly, I think it does, Boomer.

.
Spike 4_blog

.

Oh! Fuzzy…this one says “STOP!! LOOK OUT!
Poisonous bugs and scorpions live here!”

.

Spike5_blog

.

How about this one, Boomer –“Deer and antelope play here. Your dog will bring one in for dinner!”

There are chipped pictures of dogs everywhere aren’t there Fuzz?

That really does mean that dogs have been around since the beginning of people, doesn’t it?

I think dogs have been around for a long, long, long time, Boomer. A long time. I think dogs are everywhere and in every place all over the world.

That is a stupendous thought, Fuzzy! We have been here and there and all over the world.

And we still are Boomer.

Sigh! Double Sigh! That is such a nice thought, Fuzzy. I think the world is a much nicer place because there are DOGS in it!

Me too, Boom, Me Too!

.

best-friends-for-ever-more-_blog

FUZZY & BOOMER ON A LAZY AFTERNOON

written by: LINDA

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Screenshot_1_blogMy name is Linda Brown. I live on a farm in America, on the western slope of Colorado, in the high mountain desert. I’ve lived here all my life, hailing back four generations on my father’s side. Today I blog about our farm, the everyday activities that keep the farm going. I also write about my thoughts and dreams and goals, and about our two farm dogs (Fuzzy and Boomer) and their take of their life on our farm. I invite all of you to stop by and visit.

Linda

You can visit my blog at http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

.

24 thoughts on “Guest post: “Fuzzy and Boomer” – by Linda

  1. Nice to meet you Uncle Spike, as all the others I’ve met through Linda’s blog over the years :-).

    Like

  2. Ed says:

    Fuzzy and Boomer RULE! I’ve been blogger friends with Linda seems like forever. One day I’d like to get through Colorado to meet her and the boys..:-)
    Thanks for showcasing her blog Spike…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. TexWisGirl says:

    i love fuzz and boom (and their humans). thanks for the really cool look at delta history!

    Like

  4. […] and I have JUST NOW GOT BACK!  If you would like to see our post—-please go here!  Fuzzy told me a cool story about dogs that lived here in our part of Colorado hundreds of years […]

    Like

  5. Although I like many other posts on Linda’s blogs, the Friday adventures of Fuzzy and Boomer are like Uncle Spike’s Friday Flower: a must.
    I also believe that Linda should publish the stories of these two dogs.
    Thank you Uncle Spike and Linda.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lindasblogs says:

    Guest Blogger Linda, this could be an entire children’s book. And please tell Fuzzy and Boomer how adorable they are!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Isn’t it great, the wisdom we can learn from our best friends? Thanks for listening in, and passing along the conversation, Linda! As we aren’t writing on stone, the words will last best, shared here…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. fredrieka says:

    wow looks like home woof so much fun

    Liked by 1 person

  9. dayphoto says:

    I pushed like, not because I like my own writing! But the fact I feel very special that you asked me to be a guest writer! Thank you so much, Uncle Spike!

    Linda

    And

    Fuzzy and Boomer

    Like

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 539,500 and counting...

Join 2,856 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

