Hawaiian Adventures ~ Heading Inland

25

Sunday 25 May, 2014 by Uncle Spike

Ok, time for the second instalment from the Hawaiian islands. In the first, I took you on walkies around downtown, during my time in and around Waikiki and Honolulu.

Well this time, we take a wander inland a bit. Now of course, as these are all based on scanned old prints I haven’t seen for many years, I’m perhaps scraping the barrel when it comes to the old grey cells recollection as to what is what, and where is where. So forgiveness is sought in advance on that score 🙂

.

Famed for its beaches, volcanoes, tv-series and grass skirts, I must admit to have been somewhat in awe with the sights on offer as the hinterland was explored. 

Hawaii0007_blog

.

As with most places, it never took long to lose the main throng of tourists, preferring a small motorbike borrowed from guys at the bar where I worked to the “lets all jump on a tour bus” option. 

Hawaii0027_blog

.

I remember well the mile upon mile of pineapple and sugar-cane plantations.

.

Hawaii0031_blog

.

Others may know the grown-up name for this, but as far as I recall, this was a North-South palm, which apparently always grows in that directional fashion.

Hawaii0022_blog

.

On the whole, the islands were, as expected, pretty lush, green, forested and sublimely accommodating to the idea of what young Spike can been expecting from a tropical paradise. Alas, without the attentions of any habitually grass skirted companionship. 

Hawaii0021_blog

.

25 thoughts on “Hawaiian Adventures ~ Heading Inland

  1. […] was my looking around downtown, in and around Waikiki and Honolulu, and then as a second part, I headed inland, followed by the third being a selection of coastal/beach, and then the Maui Tropical Plantation. […]

    Like

  2. […] was my looking around downtown, in and around Waikiki and Honolulu, and then as a second part, I headed inland, followed by the third being a selection of coastal/beach, and the last one at the Maui Tropical […]

    Like

  3. […] was my looking around downtown, in and around Waikiki and Honolulu, and then as a second part, I headed inland, followed by the third being a selection of coastal/beach… In this post, I take a look at a […]

    Like

  4. […] I was doing walkies around downtown, in and around Waikiki and Honolulu, and in the second, I headed inland to see some of the lesser known sights.. In this episode, guess what…? Well the title gives […]

    Like

  5. I’ll bet that you’ve also been to places where the corn stalks are as high as an elephant’s thigh! 🙂

    Like

  6. Thanks for the memories and the great photos.

    Like

  7. tinapumfrey says:

    You’ve reminded me of how much I want to go back there. Someday!!

    Like

  8. joannesisco says:

    The first pic is my favourite – the old VW wagon really jumps out at me 🙂

    Like

  9. Amy Pinkrose says:

    Hawaii is one place on this earth I really want to visit. OHhhhhhh, this pic is great. Love how you captured the clouds hanging over the hills. xx Amy

    Like

  10. We call it a travellers palm as it always faces north south and will turn if you plant it east west so that it faces the correct way. It is therefore great for wayfarers to know their direction of travel. The scanned photos were great.

    Like

  11. Memories flooding back. Even before Hawaii Five-O and Magnum PI I can just about remember Hawaiian Eye!

    Like

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 564,307 and counting...

Join 2,818 other subscribers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2020

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.