Granny Spike Goes Walkabout

14

Saturday 08 February, 2014 by Uncle Spike

old-32551_640

We all have or have had mums, mothers, mummies… call them what you will.

Mine is nuts. But in a good way, don’t get me wrong 🙂

Known on here as Granny Spike, she is an inspiration in many ways. Over her 80 years, she has got up to more tricks than she’ll care me to mention, but suffice it to say, she has lived a full life, and from what you’ll read next, you’ll see she ain’t done yet!

I was chatting to her on Gmail (she lives in the UK) and we lost internet, so she emailed me (silver surfer’s rule, eh?)

.

I was reading your blog post on dreams… I agree entirely.

I didn’t get much chance over the years, although we visited some amazing places. I now have the chance to explore more exciting opportunities and put some fun back into my life. Who knows where it will lead me in the future.

Most people think I am a bit mad and keep saying how brave I am. I disagree. If I don’t go off on my own, how will I ever go anywhere? Remember the words from a song in South Pacific “You got to have a dream, if you don’t have a dream. How you gonna have a dream come true?”

I have always been a dreamer – watch this space

.

So my old mum, a.k.a. Granny Spike, is off walkabouts again, on her own, travelling across the South Pacific, from Santiago in Chile, to Sydney in Australia.

Is she nuts? Maybe a little, but it goes a way to explaining my own wanderlust and grab on life. Perhaps I’m not as ‘original’ as I would have liked to think, lol.

.

Sunrise_Over_the_South_Pacific_Ocean

.

14 thoughts on “Granny Spike Goes Walkabout

  1. swamiyesudas says:

    ‘If you don’t have a dream. How you gonna have a dream come true?’ Super!

    Like

  2. cjjustice1 says:

    Love it when people live to the fullest that they are able to do … all the way to the end of life! 🙂

    Like

  3. tinapumfrey says:

    Your mother sounds like a great lady! She might have gotten along with my mémé. My pépé was always after my mémé to travel with him. She put it off until after her retirement from teaching. I think that was when I was about 5 years old. I don’t think they ever did take a big trip abroad, because when I was 7, my pépé passed away suddenly after a heart attack. A few years later, after picking up the pieces and selling the farm, my mémé started going on seniors’ group tours to places like Europe, Australia and Singapore. It seemed pretty cool to have a world-travelling grandparent. I didn’t realize until I was a teenager just how angry she’d been when my pépé died! She still went out to see the world, though, and stayed active at home. The day before the stroke that put her in care for her last years, she’d been out walking her regular weekly 18 holes of golf. If she were still here, it would be her 100th birthday next week. She is an awesome example for me, as it sounds like your mum is for you. Treasure her. 🙂

    Like

  4. ballerina95 says:

    she does travel with a companion, right?

    Like

...waiting to hear from you...

Page Views

  • 541,513 and counting...

Join 2,860 other followers

Posts by Category

Member of The Internet Defense League

Copyright

© Uncle Spike, Uncle Spike's Adventures, 2013-2017

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Uncle Spike and Uncle Spike's Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Reblogs, pingbacks and other such links in order to use Uncle Spike's material are of course welcomed.

